Blackout Bingo Review – Make Money Playing Bingo for Free

Joy Wallet is advertiser-supported: we may earn compensation from the products and offers mentioned in this article. However, any expressed opinions are our own and aren't influenced by compensation.
I'll admit it: I'm not a gamer. I'm also very wary of games and apps that say I'm going to make real money playing them.
But when asked to give Blackout Bingo a try on my iPhone, I gave it a try to see if it really can provide a way to earn a few bucks while playing a fun game. The answer: it was fun and it did!

What is Blackout Bingo?

Blackout Bingo, formerly called Blackout Blitz, is a brand-new Bingo-style game developed by Big Run Studios Inc. and powered by the Skillz platform family that promises cash prizes for playing Bingo on your Android, iPhone or iPad. The app allows you to play the game for free to win real money playing against other opponents.

Real cash winnings

While Blackout Bingo is like many app games where your winnings can result in bonus cash that is used to advance in your games, it also offers real cash games. Many players begin slowly, playing for fun with the bonus cash and after improving their skills give the real competitions a chance.
Reviews suggests earning real cash can take a little investment but results can hit hundreds earned through play over time.
"I have started playing for real money though and at first I felt like I was just barely breaking even but I started spending a little more money to play in events and to play in the brackets and I’ve won a few hundred already and have a check coming in the mail for my winnings I cashed out."¹ - User pangea916
Although not the typical result, Skillz gamers have actually won serious dough, including one lucky egamer who took home $46,000 in 2014².

How does Blackout Bingo work?

Once you download the free app, you will pick a name and an avatar. Then you are given a practice game and matched to an opponent matching your skillset.
While playing the game, every time you hit three Bingo matches you will earn a Daub. These are boosts that can be used to select a square anywhere on the board to help you reach Bingo faster. You will have 2 minutes to play the game with a clock counting down and can get multiple Bingos during your play.
Screen Shot 2021-01-06 at 11.57.09 PM
During my practice round, I used three Daubs and reached four Bingos. I earned points for all of the correct number matches, having four Bingos, and my speed. I reached second place. I earned z tokens for my play.
Now to move on and play a real match would require 1z to compete in a 2z prize, meaning if I would win, I'd double my tokens (I won). Every time you win, you can move up a level.
Screen Shot 2021-01-06 at 11.59.29 PM
Points for the play are awarded for:
  • Correct Daubs
  • Speed bonus
  • Bingos
  • Multi-Bingos
  • X2 bonuses
You can also receive a penalty, which I got when I missed a Daub.
There are daily rewards for playing that earn you extra z tokens or Ticketz. Whether you win or lose you earn Ticketz, which can be redeemed for bonus cash or prizes.
Screen Shot 2021-01-07 at 12.00.05 AM
Just by signing up and playing a practice game and a real game, I earned 2 Ticketz. Ticketz work in tiers:
  • Bronze earns 1x Ticketz with 0 Ticketz monthly requirement
  • Silver earns 2x Ticketz with 250 Ticketz monthly requirement
  • Gold earns 3x Ticketz with 50,000 Ticketz monthly requirement
  • Platinum earns 4x Ticketz with 150,000 Ticketz monthly requirement
  • Diamond earns 5x Ticketz with 400,000 Ticketz monthly requirement
  • Black earns 6x Ticketz with 800,000 Ticketz monthly requirement
You need to play a lot to reach those top tiers but as with many app games, Blackout Bingo can be addicting and the more you play the more you improve your Bingo skills. The more Ticketz you earn, the easier it is to double, triple and eventually earn 6x the Ticketz for play.
Blackout Bingo takes your Bingo game from one card per competition to multiple cards, which means it is faster to earn Ticketz and z tokens for playing.

Blackout Bingo features

As a Skillz game, the Ticketz can be earned on other Skillz games as well.
This is what you can win:

Bonus cash

Now here's where the Ticketz turn into free money: You can receive bonus cash for your Ticketz, which help you enter competitions for real cash.
  • 20,000 Ticketz = $1
  • 35,000 Ticketz = $2
  • 80,000 Ticketz = $5
  • 150,000 Ticketz = $10
  • 280,000 Tickets = $20
  • 1,250,000 Ticketz - $100
You can also earn $20 in bonus cash for referring a friend who makes a deposit.

Real cash

For the real cash you'll literally be gambling, meaning you have to ante up to enter a real-money competition. If you do not have the Ticketz needed to enter a competition you can add real money from your bank account. If you win, you can cash out your earnings or keep the money in your account for additional competitions.
Skillz games have paid out more than $60 million to its more than 30 million players around the world.

Real prizes

Ticketz can also earn you free prizes, much like a game at a carnival. An example of prizes are:
  • 140,000 Ticketz = a Skillz T-shirt
  • 160,000 Ticketz = a Skillz phone case
  • 200,000 Ticketz = a Skillz mug
  • 460,000 Ticketz = Phone camera lenses
  • 500,000 Ticketz = AYL Portable speaker
  • 860,000 Ticketz = USB solar phone charger
Blackout Bingo Prizes

Who should play Blackout Bingo?

Gamers

If you are already spending plenty of time on your phone playing games, why not earn real money and prizes while doing it?

Those looking for pocket change

This isn't going to be a side hustle that will let you quit your day job but you will earn enough pocket change to cover your Starbucks fix or grab a bite now and then.

Blackout Bingo sister games

Skillz runs a number of popular mobile games that can earn you more Ticketz and free money. These include:
Solitaire Cube. If you like playing Klondike Solitaire, download this app and compete in head-to-head competitions and tournaments for real money.
Cube Cube. This Tetris-like app is just as addictive and colorful.
Pro Pool. You can compete in live billiards with people around the world using this 3D app of Ultimate 8 Ball.
Dominoes Gold. You can play dominoes against the computer or opponents from all over to win more cash prizes.

FAQs

How much does Blackout Bingo cost?
It is absolutely free to play Blackout Bingo and earn real-world rewards and cash prizes. As with other free games, there are times you may need a boost or you want to compete in a game that costs real money to enter. You don't have to enter any of these but if you are using the app to make money rather than a simple game during a pandemic you may want to deposit funds into your account for a chance to win money in games specifically designed for serious games with skills. This makes you a Cash Player. Blackout Bingo will pay your winnings to you via Paypal when you are ready to redeem a payout. There is no account maintenance fee unless you go inactive. If you don't enter at least one tournament in six months, you can be charged a $2 per month fee.
How old do you have to be to play?
You must be 18 and a resident of the United States to compete in Skillz games.
What is the difference between this game and gambling?
Gambling is based on pure chance, while this game tests your skill level and abilities to determine the outcome of a competition.
How can I be matched in a competition that is fair?
The algorithm of the game matches you to a player with a similar skillset so you have a fair competition. The software is also able to monitor for fraud and cheating.
Is Blackout Bingo a scam?
Often games like these can seem like a scam: Can I really win money without having to put in money? The answer is yes. You don't have to contribute to play and will slowly earn money or prizes, your choice.
Do I pay taxes on money I earn?
Only if you win more than $600. If you do, you will be sent an IRS Form W-9 and 1099-MISC.
Can anyone play?
You will not be able to play if you live in Arizona, Arkansas, Connecticut, Delaware, Louisiana, Montana, South Carolina, South Dakota, or Tennessee, or anyone under the age of 18.

The bottom line

You're may not win big playing this Bingo game immediately out of the gate but you will win and earn free prizes & money while having fun and competing in your free time by playing Blackout Bingo.

Sources:
¹https://appgrooves.com/ios/1464235676/blackout-bingo/big-run-studios-inc/positive?
²https://www.cnbc.com/2014/12/17/win-cash-prizes-playing-mobile-games.html?

Reclaim Up to $610/Year in Car Insurance

Here’s the thing: your current car insurance company is probably overcharging you. But, who has the time to look around for around a new company?

A website called CarInsurance.net makes it super easy to see if you’re getting the lowest price. All you have to do is enter your ZIP code and your age, and it’ll show you your options.

Using CarInsurance.net, people have saved up to $610 a year.

It takes just a few minutes to see how much CarInsurance.net could put back in your pocket. And the best part? Because we’re driving less, some insurers are slashing prices this month.

Share this article

RECOMMENDED POSTS
Big Buck Hunter: Marksman Review - Worth a Shot
October 20, 2021
Big Buck Hunter: Marksman Review - Worth a Shot
Solitaire Cash Review — Win Real Money Playing Solitaire Against Others Online
January 14, 2021
Solitaire Cash Review — Win Real Money Playing Solitaire Against Others Online
How to Win Real Money Playing Mobile Games
July 28, 2020
How to Win Real Money Playing Mobile Games
Solitaire Cube Review 2021: Play Solitaire To Win Cash
April 17, 2020
Solitaire Cube Review 2021: Play Solitaire To Win Cash
Start Making Money Moves